Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Montserrat Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Montserrat Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Montserrat

      Dependency status:
      overseas territory of the UK

      Government type:

      Plymouth (abandoned in 1997 due to volcanic activity; interim government buildings have been built at Brades Estate, in the Carr's Bay/Little Bay vicinity at the northwest end of Montserrat)

      Administrative divisions:
      3 parishes; Saint Anthony, Saint Georges, Saint Peter

      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      National holiday:
      Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)

      present constitution came into force 19 December 1989

      Legal system:
      English common law and statutory law

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Acting Governor Sir Howard A. FERGUS (since 2 April 2004)
      elections: the monarch is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party usually becomes chief minister
      head of government: Chief Minister John OSBORNE (since 5 April 2001)
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, the chief minister, three other ministers, the attorney general, and the finance secretary

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Legislative Council (11 seats, 9 popularly elected; members serve five-year terms)
      note: expanded in 2001 from 7 to 9 elected members with attorney general and financial secretary sitting as ex-officio members
      elections: last held April 2001 (next to be held by November 2006)
      note: in 2001, the Elections Commission instituted a single constituency/voter-at-large system whereby all eligible voters cast ballots for all nine seats of the Legislative Council
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NPLM 7, NPP 2

      Judicial branch:
      Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based in Saint Lucia, one judge of the Supreme Court is a resident of the islands and presides over the High Court)

      Political parties and leaders:
      National Progressive Party or NPP [Reuben T. MEADE]; New People's Liberation Movement or NPLM [John A. OSBORNE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      Caricom, CDB, ICFTU, Interpol (subbureau), OECS

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Flag description:
      blue, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Montserratian coat of arms centered in the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms features a woman standing beside a yellow harp with her arm around a black cross

      NOTE: The information regarding Montserrat on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Montserrat Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Montserrat Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)