Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Hong Kong Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Hong Kong Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
      conventional short form: Hong Kong
      local short form: Xianggang
      local long form: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu
      abbreviation: HK

      Dependency status:
      special administrative region of China

      Government type:
      limited democracy

      Administrative divisions:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      none (special administrative region of China)

      National holiday:
      National Day (Anniversary of the Founding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); note - 1 July 1997 is celebrated as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

      Basic Law approved in March 1990 by China's National People's Congress is Hong Kong's "mini-constitution"

      Legal system:
      based on English common law

      direct election 18 years of age; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; indirect election limited to about 100,000 members of functional constituencies and an 800-member election committee drawn from broad regional groupings, municipal organizations, and central government bodies

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President of China HU Jintao (since 15 March 2003)
      head of government: Chief Executive TUNG Chee-hwa (since 1 July 1997)
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of three ex-officio members and 10 appointed members; ex-officio members are: Chief Secretary Donald TSANG Yam-kuen (since 1 May 2001), Financial Secretary Henry TANG (since 2 August 2003), and Secretary of Justice Elsie LEUNG (since 1 July 1997)
      elections: TUNG Chee-hwa was elected to a second term in March 2002 by an 800-member election committee dominated by pro-Beijing forces; the next election is scheduled to be held in 2007

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Legislative Council or LEGCO (60 seats; in 2004 30 seats indirectly elected by functional constituencies, 30 elected by popular vote; members serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 10 September 2000 (next to be held in September 2004)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - Democratic Party 12, Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong 10, Liberal Party 7, Frontier Party 5, Hong Kong Progressive Alliance 4, New Century Forum 2, Hong Kong Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood 1, independents 19

      Judicial branch:
      Court of Final Appeal in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

      Political parties and leaders:
      Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood [Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, chairman]; Citizens Party [Alex CHAN Kai-chung]; Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong [MA Lik, chairman]; Democratic Party [YEUNG Sum, chairman]; Frontier Party [Emily LAU Wai-hing, chairwoman]; Hong Kong Progressive Alliance [Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen]; Liberal Party [James TIEN Pei-chun, chairman]; New Century Forum [MA Fung-kwok, chairman]
      note: political blocs include: pro-democracy - Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood, Citizens Party, Democratic Party, Frontier Party; pro-Beijing - Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Progressive Alliance, Liberal Party, New Century Forum

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Chinese General Chamber of Commerce (pro-China); Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong; Confederation of Trade Unions (pro-democracy) [LAU Chin-shek, president; LEE Cheuk-yan, general secretary]; Federation of Hong Kong Industries; Federation of Trade Unions (pro-China) [CHENG Yiu-tong, executive councilor]; Hong Kong Alliance in Support of the Patriotic Democratic Movement in China [Szeto WAH, chairman]; Hong Kong and Kowloon Trade Union Council (pro-Taiwan); Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union [CHEUNG Man-kwong, president]; Liberal Democratic Federation [HU Fa-kuang, chairman]

      International organization participation:
      APEC, AsDB, BIS, ICC, ICFTU, IHO, IMO (associate), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ISO (correspondent), WCL, WCO, WMO, WToO (associate), WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Consul General James KEITH
      consulate(s) general: 26 Garden Road, Hong Kong
      mailing address: PSC 461, Box 1, FPO AP 96521-0006
      telephone: [852] 2523-9011
      FAX: [852] 2524-0860

      Flag description:
      red with a stylized, white, five-petal bauhinia flower in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Hong Kong on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Hong Kong Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Hong Kong Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)