ABC logo

. Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense




Netherlands Antilles

    • Names:

        conventional long form:

        conventional short form:
        Netherlands Antilles

        local long form:

        local short form:
        Nederlandse Antillen

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      part of the Dutch realm; full autonomy in internal affairs granted in 1954

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (part of the Dutch realm)

    • Independence:
      none (part of the Dutch realm)

    • National holiday:
      Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

    • Constitution:
      29 December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended

    • Legal system:
      based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Jaime SALEH (since NA October 1989)

        head of government:
        Prime Minister Miguel POURIER (since 25 February 1994)

        Council of Ministers; appointed with the advice and approval of the unicameral legislature

    • Legislative branch:

        elections last held on 25 February 1994 (next to be held March 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (23 total) PAR 8, PNP 3, SPA 2, PDB 2, UPB 1, MAN 2, DP 1, WIPM 1, DP-St.E 1, DP-St.M 1, Nos Patria 1

        the government of Prime Minister Miguel POURIER is a coalition of several parties

    • Judicial branch:
      Joint High Court of Justice

    • Political parties and leaders:
      political parties are indigenous to each island

        Patriotic Union of Bonaire (UPB), Rudy ELLIS; Democratic Party of Bonaire (PDB), Franklin CRESTIAN

        Antillean Restructuring Party (PAR), Miguel POURIER; National People's Party (PNP), Maria LIBERIA-PETERS; New Antilles Movement (MAN), Domenico Felip Don MARTINA; Workers' Liberation Front (FOL), Wilson (Papa) GODETT; Socialist Independent (SI), George HUECK and Nelson MONTE; Democratic Party of Curacao (DP), Augustin DIAZ; Nos Patria, Chin BEHILIA

        Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM Saba), Will JOHNSON; Saba Democratic Labor Movement, Vernon HASSELL; Saba Unity Party, Carmen SIMMONDS

        Sint Eustatius:
        Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius (DP-St.E), K. Van PUTTEN; Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM); St. Eustatius Alliance (SEA), Ralph BERKEL

        Sint Maarten:
        Democratic Party of Sint Maarten (DP-St.M), Claude WATHEY; Patriotic Movement of Sint Maarten (SPA), Vance JAMES

    • Member of:
      CARICOM (observer), ECLAC (associate), ICFTU, INTERPOL, IOC, UNESCO (associate), UPU, WMO, WTO (associate)

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (self-governing part of the Netherlands)

    • US diplomatic representation:

        chief of mission:
        Consul General Bernard J. WOERZ

        consulate(s) general:
        Saint Anna Boulevard 19, Willemstad, Curacao

        mailing address:
        P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao

        [599] (9) 61-3066

        [599] (9) 61-6489

    • Flag:
      white with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on a vertical red band also centered; five white five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars represent the five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and Sint Maarten

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Immigration Lawyers on the Internet

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

HTML Colors; Greece Geography Economy, people, communications, transportation, flags, maps