Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |1995 INDEX|
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Eritrea Government 1995

      conventional long form: State of Eritrea
      conventional short form:
      local long form: none
      local short form: none
      former: Eritrea Autonomous Region in Ethiopia
      Digraph: ER
      Type: transitional government
      note: on 29 May 1991 ISSAIAS Afeworke, secretary general of the Eritrean People's Liberation Front (EPLF), announced the formation of the Provisional Government in Eritrea (PGE), in preparation for the 23-25 April 1993 referendum on independence for the autonomous region of Eritrea; the result was a landslide vote for independence that was announced on 27 April 1993

      Capital: Asmara (formerly Asmera)
      Administrative divisions: 7 provinces; Akale Guzay, Baraka, Denakil, Hamasen, Samhar, Seraye, Sahil (1993)

      Independence: 27 May 1993 (from Ethiopia; formerly the Eritrea Autonomous Region)
      National holiday: National Day (independence from Ethiopia), 24 May (1993)

      Constitution: transitional "constitution" decreed 19 May 1993

      Legal system: NA
      Suffrage: NA

      Executive branch:
      chief of state and head of government: President ISSAIAS Afeworke (since 22 May 1993)
      cabinet: State Council; the collective executive authority
      note: election to be held before 20 May 1997

      Legislative branch: unicameral
      National Assembly: EPLF Central Committee serves as the country's legislative body until multinational elections are held (before 20 May 1997)

      Judicial branch: Judiciary

      Political parties and leaders: Eritrean People's Liberation Front (EPLF) (Christian Muslim), ISSAIAS Aferworke, PETROS Solomon; Eritrean Liberation Front (ELF) (Muslim), ABDULLAH Muhammed; Eritrean Liberation Front - United Organization (ELF-UO), Mohammed Said NAWUD; Eritrean Liberation Front - Revolutionary Council (ELF-RC), Ahmed NASSER
      Other political or pressure groups: Eritrean Islamic Jihad (EIJ); Islamic Militant Group
      Member of: OAU, ACP, AfDB, ECA, ILO, IMO, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), ITU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WMO

      Diplomatic representation in US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador-designate Hagos GEBREHIWOT
      chancery: Suite 400, 910 17th Street NW, Washington DC 20006
      telephone: (202) 429-1991
      FAX: (202) 429-9004
      US diplomatic representation:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert G. HOUDEK
      embassy: 34 Zera Yacob St., Asmara
      mailing address: P.O. Box 211, Asmara
      telephone: [291] (1) 123-720
      FAX: [291] (1) 127-584

      Flag: red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) dividing the flag into two right triangles; the upper triangle is green, the lower one is blue; a gold wreath encircling a gold olive branch is centered on the hoist side of the red triangle

      NOTE: The information regarding Eritrea on this page is re-published from the 1995 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Eritrea Government 1995 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Eritrea Government 1995 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this web site is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 09-Aug-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)